Reviving (barely) past trends

f11803282f29754290773bb25af2e81f

If normcore is dead then what do I do with all my sneakers?

The other day I overheard a statement that Normcore is officially no more. This coming straight from post fashion month reviews where no sneaker was seen or even spoken about. I reiterated the statement to a friend, like I was the first one who ever said it, “Normcore is dead.” So stern, so believable, though I didn’t want to believe it myself. Said friend then mentioned that she had heard the same thing. So it was affirmed. We then bowed our heads simultaneously in a mourning-like gesture because this is a sad time, mostly for my sneaker collection.

Since then I contemplated wearing sneakers. Funny how subconsciously influenced I am. Instead I opted for flats or sandals with kitten block heels and pointy ankle boots to pair with my jeans and t-shirt combo, and literally everything else. Sneakers just seem so casual now. But for the last few years I have done nothing but work hard at my aforementioned collection, so hard that one time I almost went mad!

This may leave you feeling exactly the same way I did –Sad, confused and somewhat cheated- when I first realised that I was heavily neglecting a trend I whole-heartedly gave myself to just a couple of years ago. It easily resonated through every human being’s attire, but if you pulled it off right it became a part of who you were: One with a give-no-fucks-but-just-enough type of attitude. There is a part of me that is ready to let go of comfort dressing and to have a little fun with my every day attire. But what do I do with all these sneakers I’ve got lined up on proud display? Well, the only logical solution is to keep wearing them and continue the give-no-fucks attitude. (After all, this isn’t about what’s on trend, it’s about finding your own personal style, right?). So here are my notes on how I think sneakers work now. You can thank me later.

Before it was all about ironic anonymity mixed with a bit of sports luxe. Now you’ll just want the least flashy pair of sneakers you can find, preferably in a solid colour, as the focus has shifted from our feet to other body parts like neck lines, collarbones, ankles and hair lines… If our bodies were stages and our outfits part of the set, sneakers would be the overseen detail that everyone forgets about, but nothing would have worked without it, you know?

high necks at Giles
high necks at Giles

Compliment your sneakers with layered items that vary in texture, but are all shades of black. You may have seen Thom Browne’s Fall/Winter 2015 lookbook on Style.com, or UK designer Phoebe English’s London Fashion Week presentation of soft, Tim Burton-esque dressing which blew me away (sneakers could definitely be paired here). If black is your thing then look towards Giles, Alexander Wang or Givenchy for some dark inspiration. If it were me, I’d pair these with an all black Victorian-like ensemble that just hints towards my obsession with metallics, especially gold.

The main idea is that the sneaker is invisible but compliments your notions to power dress yourself to the nines, hence why gold sneakers could work with a black, floor sweeping skirt. If you’re more of a chirpy bird then pair yours with slip dresses in florals or softer tones in silky textures a la Céline. Since we religiously follow everything that Phoebe Philo tells us to do, then reach for strappy sandals if you’re wearing jeans and a t-shirt – unless you consider tailored striped trousers under a sheer blouse your ‘jeans and a t-shirt’. Then I think we should be friends and sneakers can still be paired here.

Givenchy Fall/Winter 2015
Givenchy Fall/Winter 2015

If you’re looking to draw more focus away from your feet, I’d suggest accessories a la Givenchy at Paris Fashion Week once again for inspiration. And if that’s too much for you opt for statement neckties or a strappy bra under that sheer blouse. Or just do whatever you want because really, who am I to tell you want to do?

Happy YOLO dressing!

Leave a Reply

